“If there were no poor people in the world, would anyone give to fund missionary work?”

Recently the Lord asked me a question: “If there were no poor people in the world, would anyone give to fund missionary work?”

It hit me hard. I knew the answer. The level of giving to missions is already either “not enough” or “misappropriated”* such that we are not getting the work done. Many Christians who have gone on short term trips (and even those who haven’t) get stuck focused on the poverty they saw. The difference between their lives and the lives of the people they are seeing really messes with them! Don’t forget that the majority of short term trips happen in places that already have the good news about Jesus-among “reached peoples.”

What drives this focus? Is it guilt? Why is it so hard for us to see the eternal needs over the physical needs?

I’m not arguing that we do nothing for the poor, or for people who are hungry, but why has this become the all consuming focus for so many? Are we really ok with people going to hell as long as they were not poor in this life?

I could pretend I have an answer. I really don’t. I can speculate. Does that help? Probably not. I think I’ll hit my knees again. That will help.

“God, break our hearts for the things that break yours!”

(If you know who said that, please tell me and I’ll fix it. I could not find a source on the Internet.)

*Depending on your view/missiology.

About matt24fourteen

One of the kids, longing for the day when we finish His work. Find me on Twitter at matt24fourteen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

